A Historical Origin Story

The novel X  was absolutely fantastic, and the type of novel I want lots of people to read so I can talk about it with them.

IMG_1331 (1) X is – a fictional account of Malcolm X’s early years, before he was Malcolm X – but when he was Malcolm Little, in Lansing Michigan, and then when he was Red, in Boston, and Detroit Red, in Harlem, New York.

The novel was written by his daughter, Ilyasah Shabazz, with the help of Kekkla Magoon.  It details the struggles that Malcolm encountered, and really emphasizes the deleterious effect of systemic discrimination and racism.  With all of the recent movies that are origin stories of superheroes, this is a great historical origin story of a real leader, flaws and all.  This would be a great novel to discuss with others, and I would love to hear from anyone else that has read it.  

Author: JSBennivan

I am starting my third year as a school librarian, my seventeenth year in education. I finished my school library certification courses in August of 2016.

Leave a Reply

