Reading Resolution: January – Part 1

This month I resolved to read two graphic novels every month this year.  Graphic novels are one of my weaknesses, I am not great at reading them, and as a result I struggle when students ask me for recommendations.

On January 20, I completed the first graphic novel.  I chose Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales: Donner Dinner Party, written by Nathan Hale.  The premise is that Nathan Hale, a famous spy, is about to be hanged for his crimes, but he tells stories to the hangman and the British soldier while they wait. In this section of the series, Hale takes on the subject of the Donner Party.  Hale’s tone is very serious, while the hangman is somewhat more comedic, and provides some humorous relief to the more depressing and horrific sections of the tale.  One of my favorite sections was the graphic representation of all of the families present in the Donner party.  It was on pages 42-43, and really helps to illustrate the scope of the people involved.  I think this series would be really beneficial for anyone that is interested in history.  Also, if you have students that struggle with connections to history, or understanding, the graphics throughout, and the connections, should aid those students.

If you would like more information on the series, the author does have a blog with additional information.

 

Author: JSBennivan

I am starting my third year as a school librarian, my seventeenth year in education. I finished my school library certification courses in August of 2016.

Leave a Reply

