The Road Here

Last year sometime, while driving my son to daycare in the blue – blackness of early morning, I had a scary thought.  What if the bulk of writing I did on this Earth was commenting in the margins of student essays?  What if most of my work ended up disregarded and in a landfill?  I’m sure part of the depth of the melodrama that day was due to the earliness of the hour, and the volume of essays I was in the midst of grading, but it did really start me thinking about what I wanted from the future.  I had talked to our previous librarian about getting enrolled in a school librarian certification program, but the timing had never seemed quite right.  When our librarian had to retire earlier than she had planned, I really thought I had missed my window, but then the library aide at the time asked if I was going to apply.  For once, I decided to take the plunge, and both apply for the position, and to a school librarianship program.  I knew getting the job was a longshot, but against all odds I was hired.  I am loving the library thus far, and I am so excited to learn and grow throughout the program.  My favorite moments of the day are when I help a student, or a teacher, find something they need.  It isn’t that the library is less work, but it is more of the work I really like – planning, collaborating with teachers, and working on programming to encourage reading.

Author: JSBennivan

I am starting my third year as a school librarian, my seventeenth year in education. I finished my school library certification courses in August of 2016.

Leave a Reply

